## **CHAPTER 1**

## INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 Established in 1979, the main function of the Standing Commission on Civil Service Salaries and Conditions of Service is to advise and make recommendations to the Chief Executive on the principles and practices governing pay, conditions of service and salary structure of non-directorate civil servants, other than judicial officers and disciplined services staff.
- 1.2 The Commission provides independent advice to the Chief Executive, after taking into full account relevant factors and views expressed by the parties concerned. The decision as to whether the Commission's advice should be accepted rests with Government. The Commission's terms of reference and membership list are at Appendices A and B respectively.
- 1.3 This is our twentieth progress report and it gives an account of our major undertaking in 2000. In all, we held a total of six Commission meetings, four Steering Group meetings and seven informal meetings with staff councils/associations during the year.
- 1.4 With the retirement of **Sir Sidney Gordon, GBM, JP** on 1 August 2000, **Mr Yeung Ka-sing, JP** was appointed Chairman of the Commission. To Sir Sidney, whose discerning views and inspiring leadership have steered the Commission through the many major reviews since 1988, we would like to record our heartfelt appreciation. Four other Members viz. **Dr Wilfred Chan Siu-yuen, JP, Mr Nicholas S C Chiu, JP, Mr David W Gairns, JP** and **Mr Simon Sik-on Ip, JP** also left the Commission during the year on completion of their terms of appointment. To each of them, we would like to express our gratitude for their contribution. We also welcome **Mr Nicholas Brooke, BBS, JP, Mr Nicky Lo Kar-chun** and **Ms Carlye Tsui Wai-ling, JP** whose appointment to the Commission took effect from 1 August 2000.
- 1.5 We wish to thank the Secretary for the Civil Service and his staff for their assistance and co-operation. Last but not least, our appreciation also goes to **Mr Angus Miu**, acting Secretary General and the staff of the Commission Secretariat (list at Appendix C) for their unfailing support.